GLRA India's Approach on Disability & Rehabilitation

GLRA India strives to make India as a place where no one is deprived of his/her fundamental human rights due to leprosy, TB or disability. Until 2011, the support given by GLRA India in the area of disability due to leprosy and tuberculosis has been on poverty alleviation. This was largely achieved through Socio-Economic Rehabilitation (SER).

From 2012 onwards GLRA India adopted Community Based Rehabilitation approach. The scope of the rehabilitation interventions and approaches were broadened to ensure that people affected by leprosy become included into society. The focus is not only on the leprosy affected individuals but also on the people with other disabilities; their family and the community.

Considering the magnitude of needs and demands of people with disabilities and the limited resources, GLRA India looks forward to advocate for disability inclusive development. In future GLRA India will be known as an exemplary disability inclusive organisation promoting people-centered development, empowerment, equal participation and inclusion of persons affected by leprosy and other disabilities in the society.

Types of Disability that we are focusing on now

The core target of GLRA India are vulnerable persons with disabilities which includes all types of disabilities which are recognised as disability by the Govt. of India and those who are excluded and discriminated by the society due to their disability and diseases (leprosy, TB and NTDs).

We provide rehabilitation support for the following 10 types of disability which are recognised by Govt. of India:

1. Blindness
2. Low vision
3. Leprosy-cured
4. Hearing impairment
5. Locomotor disability
6. Mental illness
7. Mental retardation
8. Autism
9. Cerebral Palsy
10. Multiple Disability

Also the following 9 types of disability which are under consideration for recognition by the Govt:

11. Chronic neurological conditions
12. Deaf blindness
13. Haemophilia
14. Muscular Dystrophy
15. Multiple Sclerosis
16. Learning Disability
17. Speech & Language Disability
18. Sickle cell disease
19. Thalasemia